body { scrollbar-base-color: #000000; }

abwhite


great reads

dorknoodle
zombiepoodle
squirrelx
porktornado
daemonchild
ckjosh
oppusshrugged
nitejohnboy


OUTSIDE
bitchin stuff links
get a job
shopping
Dynomoose Central
ebay
message board chat
wish list
the art conspiracy
fotolog
bitchin stuff
free tee shirts
BowieNet
REALITY Tickets
BowieNet Store

INSIDE

newest
older
search terms
notify
profile
notes
guestbook
rings
trading card
host
design






City of brotherly what?


Pennsylvannians behind Santorum in gay issue

By David Morgan

PHILADELPHIA, May 22 � Republican Sen. Rick Santorum created a stir when he compared homosexuality to bigamy, polygamy and incest, but most voters in his home state don't seem bothered, a poll concluded on Thursday.

The vast majority of the state's voters -- 75 percent -- said Santorum should not resign as Senate Republican Conference chairman, while 58 percent said homosexuality was morally wrong, the Quinnipiac University poll said.

On the other side of the heated debate over the politician's remarks, more than one-quarter of Pennsylvania voters said they were less likely to vote for Santorum after his inflammatory comments.

In an interview with the Associated Press last month Santorum said, ''If the Supreme Court says that you have the right to consensual (gay) sex within your home, then you have the right to bigamy, you have the right to polygamy, you have the right to incest, you have the right to adultery.''

The published remarks brought an outcry from gay rights groups and some Democrats, who demanded an apology.

The Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee also called on Santorum to surrender his Senate conference chairmanship, the No. 3 job in the Republican Party leadership.

Santorum, a two-term conservative from suburban Pittsburgh, ignored his critics and President Bush came to his defense.

Four months earlier Mississippi Republican Sen. Trent Lott was forced to step down as Senate Majority Leader for racially charged remarks.

In Pennsylvania, a political battleground state with a large bloc of conservative blue-collar Democrats, the Quinnipiac poll found that 30 percent of voters viewed Santorum ''less favorably'' after the flap, while 27 percent were less likely to vote for him.

Fifty-five percent continued to have a favorable opinion of the senator. But the survey also recorded a 13-percent jump in his disapproval rating since April 10, before the controversy erupted, as previously undecided voters adopted a negative view. Still, 55 percent approved of the Senator with 33 percent disapproving of his performance and 12 percent undecided.

The May 13-20 poll surveyed 952 registered voters and had a 5.3 percent margin of error. The results included responses from 338 registered Democrats.


It's Joe's last day of vacation. He's getting a last day of naps and overeating in.

I love having him home, but I just can't get anything done when he's in the house. I have 6 Voodoo dolls that need very minimal work to be done and listed and they've been sitting on top of the TV waiting for me to work on them. It wouldn't bother me if we weren't always in such diar financial shape, but we are and I need the house to myself to make us some money.


It would be nice if I could get enough money together to get myself back on the road, so I could get a part time job and run my own errands. But that seems a long way off.


Trick is in LA, visiting Teen Idol. My mother just left LA. I'm feeling a little envy over all my friends and family doing all this traveling and none of them coming here. I'd love to get out of the state and go somewhere I've never been before.

Poverty sucks.


I design all this stuff for myself and other people. The stuff I design for other people sells like hotcakes, while the stuff I design for myself just sits there. It's like people are saying "we like your work, but don't want you to be paid for it"! Not that I'm not happy that Daemonchild is making a little money. I am! That's why I set her up with that shop. But I just wish people were as enthused about the stuff I set up for me.

Yeah, I know, bitch and whine. That seems to be what I do best lately!

2003-05-22
3:32 p.m.

<< // >>


VOTE




Animal Breed Zip Code



free hit counter
Did you miss all these?
read me. - 2008-06-03
videos - 2008-03-30
Please vote for LabRat - 2007-09-09
Who is this amourous young man? - 2007-04-25
Random thoughts during the big move - 2007-02-09