body { scrollbar-base-color: #000000; }

abwhite


great reads

dorknoodle
zombiepoodle
squirrelx
porktornado
daemonchild
ckjosh
oppusshrugged
nitejohnboy


OUTSIDE
bitchin stuff links
get a job
shopping
Dynomoose Central
ebay
message board chat
wish list
the art conspiracy
fotolog
bitchin stuff
free tee shirts
BowieNet
REALITY Tickets
BowieNet Store

INSIDE

newest
older
search terms
notify
profile
notes
guestbook
rings
trading card
host
design






Just watched Wrestling the Mississippi.

I'd read Joe's articles about how the city is sinking and the ocean is rising. But the documentary on the Discovery Channel really drove it home.

Most of Louisiana (including New Orleans) never finished forming. Most of the state was formed by sediment moved by river water (no rock). Since people started moving here, they built levees, to keep the river water from flooding the area. The same river that deposits the much needed sediment our city is made of. Since the city never got the sediment it needs and it's still fairly young, the existing sediment is still compacting. Sinking.

Combine this with the fact that for a hundred years, the U.S. government gave people wetland, on the condition that they fill it in. So a much needed buffer zone for rising water became land that forced the water higher.

The highest point of New Orleans (my neighborhood) is six feet below sea (and river) level. We live right by the lake and it's higher than we are. The lowest point of the city is 15 feet below sea level.

The levees offer us some short term protection. But their very existence prevents much needed mass from being added to our beautiful city. So, barring a hurricane coming in during a flood (which would make it happen immediately), New Orleans is going to be the next Atlantis in less than a hundred years. Maybe in my lifetime.

Lots of people and animals will die because there are no dependable evacuation routes.

It's a godamn shame.



My sleeping schedule is as whacked out as it's ever been.

I slept through most of yesterday and now I can't sleep at all.



Had a scare after weighing myself.

I don't want to see anyone I used to know until I've lost a considerable amount of weight.

Even though I've been feeling more than a little homesick and nostalgic.



There should be a law against married men watching the Naked Gun movies in their own homes.

They're torture to the poor wives who are forced to sit through them.



Had a nice late night phone call with Trick. We tried to make some progress on formatting his book, so we can publish it in the next couple of months. But....

His stalker bitch kept trying to break in (at least four times). At least it was fun to hear him talk about how insane she is.

We didn't get much accomplished, but lots of giggles were had. sometimes, giggles are exactly what you need.



I've been trying to remove all mention of SRA+ from the Self Representing Artists website. It's a real pain in the ass to do. Not only does photoshop not recognize the graphic format of the link buttons, but the site seems to have millions of pages. Whenever I think I'm done (besides the damn buttons), I discover a bunch more pages that need to be changed.

ARRRRGH!



I'd apologize about the boring, long winded entry. But it's my fucking diary and I can write whatever I want.

. .

d

-V-

2003-07-24
3:56 a.m.

<< // >>


VOTE




Animal Breed Zip Code



free hit counter
Did you miss all these?
read me. - 2008-06-03
videos - 2008-03-30
Please vote for LabRat - 2007-09-09
Who is this amourous young man? - 2007-04-25
Random thoughts during the big move - 2007-02-09