body { scrollbar-base-color: #000000; }

abwhite


great reads

dorknoodle
zombiepoodle
squirrelx
porktornado
daemonchild
ckjosh
oppusshrugged
nitejohnboy


OUTSIDE
bitchin stuff links
get a job
shopping
Dynomoose Central
ebay
message board chat
wish list
the art conspiracy
fotolog
bitchin stuff
free tee shirts
BowieNet
REALITY Tickets
BowieNet Store

INSIDE

newest
older
search terms
notify
profile
notes
guestbook
rings
trading card
host
design






We couldnt' afford it but for the Holiday weekend, Joe and I rented five DVDs: Wonderland, Solaris (U.S.), Thirteen, Bridget Jones' Diary and Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon.

Wonderland was really good, but the documentary that came with it, Wadd, blew the film away. John Holmes was a really tragic and complicated character. Dumb as a box of rocks, but kind of loveable. I couldn't get over how straight his wife, Sharon, was. And the dynamic between John, Dawn (his mistress) and Sharon was bizarre. Dawn actually lived in their house with them and is still very close with Sharon.

My mother often describes my adolesence as the worst nightmare of her life. I was a monster and she will never stop reminding me of the fact. I'm thinking she needs to watch Thirteen and count her lucky stars. I was a fucking saint compared to those kids. Daaaaaaaaamn.

Haven't watched Solaris yet and CTHD and Bridget Jones are films we've seen so many times I have them comitted to memory. Surprising that Joe didn't want to rent something we haven't seen before.



Mom came down last week for the Ebay Live convention and general hanging out. She and I stayed at her hotel for the week and played tourist.

The convention was grand. Lots of good information, free shit and inspiration.

Playing tourist was even better.

I know it sounds corny but hanging out with my mom has always been one of my favorite activities. We can be goofy in our own unique way together and I can have conversations with her that I can't imagine having with anybody else.

It was a little embarassing when she insisted (and, not having had food in the apartment for over a week, I couldn't refuse) on buying us groceries. Though, I must admit to enjoying having something to eat every day. Life is pretty rough when you've even run out of Ramen noodles!

She took me book shopping where I picked up a copy of Liquor by Poppy Z. Brite. It was my first of her books but will not be my last. While not being "heavy literature", Liquor is one of the best told stories I've had the good luck to read. The characters are both believable and lovable. And the portrayal of New Orleans is dead-on. Good fucking read.

Anyway, I can't wait for the day when Joe and I are doing well financially and mom's visits can be all about fun and she doesn't have to feel like she has to buy me things.

Fingers crossed that Joe finds a good gig soon so that that day will be sooner rather than later!

2004-07-04
12:00 a.m.

<< // >>


VOTE




Animal Breed Zip Code



free hit counter
Did you miss all these?
read me. - 2008-06-03
videos - 2008-03-30
Please vote for LabRat - 2007-09-09
Who is this amourous young man? - 2007-04-25
Random thoughts during the big move - 2007-02-09