body { scrollbar-base-color: #000000; }

abwhite


great reads

dorknoodle
zombiepoodle
squirrelx
porktornado
daemonchild
ckjosh
oppusshrugged
nitejohnboy


OUTSIDE
bitchin stuff links
get a job
shopping
Dynomoose Central
ebay
message board chat
wish list
the art conspiracy
fotolog
bitchin stuff
free tee shirts
BowieNet
REALITY Tickets
BowieNet Store

INSIDE

newest
older
search terms
notify
profile
notes
guestbook
rings
trading card
host
design






January 8 2005
January 08, 2005 01:47PM
12:50 pm
Worked today. It's not good that by not going in yesterday (slept most of the day), I killed all my overtime.
Joe pawned 40 of his blues CDs for $30 cigarette money today. Poor baby. He says we're not going to try to replace any of them. He'd rather just download from now on. So the RIAA and whiney multimillionaire musicians complaining about lost revenue because of music downloads can bitch to the government assholes who make cigarettes so expensive!

Yep, it's David Bowie's birthday today. It really drives my aging hom to realize that the celebrity I've had a screaming crush on for my entire life is just two years away from turning 60.

Last night I was iming with my mother. She claimed to be in IM with some cyber-sex guy down here and had me seriously freaked out. Turns out it was a practical joke she and Mary (penelope) were playing on me. That's what you get when you introduce your friends to your parents!

The nicest girl I went to Jr high and high school with has tracked me down on classmates. Oddly, I'd just run across a "friends' club" card she'd made me in 7th grade before getting the email. Sherry's a dear and it's wonderful to hear she's doing so well!

Jan 11 2005
January 11, 2005 06:26PM
5:27 pm
They're out to kill Flash. Flash is a field mouse wintering in the bookstore (those 70 degree temps are too chilly for the little mousey), Yesterday, the exterminators came in and layed out poison and glue traps. Bothe horrible ways to die. Even more than the cruelty to poor Flash (who would be leaving in spring anyway), I'm worried that one of the campus cats will get ahold of him after he's had the poison and that foul stuff will kill up the food chain.
After working 12 exhausting hours yesterday, I stayed up until 2 am burning CDs. I was dead on my feet today!

On the mildly traumatic side of things, found my first gray root today. As distressing as this discovery of impending mortality is, I am much less upset than when I had my first wrinkle. Am up to three wrinkles now. Must look into botox.

Announced to departments that all book adoptions recieved from now on will not be ordered until the 24th. Considering adoptions were due October 18 and school starts (book rush) January 18, we consider this quite reasonable. There are now some very disgruntled tardy (see asshole) professors. This makes me very happy.

January 16 2005
January 16, 2005 05:15PM
4:09 pm
I've been kind of tired lately and just haven't felt like going online.

Had a strange nightmare a few nights ago where som golddfish sized sharks killed a painted turtle in a fishtank. Made me feel guilty, even though it wasn't my tank or anything. I'm sure it came from my mother telling me about Snowbird's (one of her bengal cats) swimming in her aquarium.

Got a message from Poppy Z. Brite about her finding LabRat's ass on Google, while looking for Live Journal icons. LabRat's feeling quite full of himself over it.
I see my last post has a lot of comments. Must go see what this is all about...

4:33 pmOkay. Responded to all the nice comments in one shot.
Watched Garden State with Joe, Mary and Jeremy last night. Really, really good. I was es[ecially impressed that, as a first-time writer director who also starred in the thing, the movie was so well paced. Not at all over the top.
Watched Maria Full of Grace today.
While it wasn't the clear-cut indictment of the war on drugs in this country, it did a fairly decent job of illustrating the state of poverty, corruption and violence American international drug policy inflicts on countries such as Columbia.
Beyond that, it was a did an entertaining job of telling the main character's story.

Finally finished the Lucretzia Borgia book.
Why oh why do historians and biographers insist on taking exciting and interesting historical events and figures and writing about them in such a way as to bore one to tears?
No wonder most people have no interest ibn history. The academics go out of their way to suck the life out of it!

Last night, Mary gave me a bag of emergency stomach pills. They're phenobarbatol. Two within a six hour period would send me to the ER. Three... Well, you get the idea. Obviously, Mary has no idea about my occasional bouts of near suicidal depression.
It's a comfort having them here, anyway.

2005-01-16
5:27 p.m.

<< // >>


VOTE




Animal Breed Zip Code



free hit counter
Did you miss all these?
read me. - 2008-06-03
videos - 2008-03-30
Please vote for LabRat - 2007-09-09
Who is this amourous young man? - 2007-04-25
Random thoughts during the big move - 2007-02-09